Elaine and I had email difficulties, so I would like to write a little bit about the slang word "bitch" also.
If someone came to America and was called a bitch, would they take that personally or blow it off like it was a good thing? I sometimes wonder what peole think of our slang terms and how it affends many people. I remember when I was a teenager, I was always referred to as the crabby one in the household so to by funny my mom bought me a shirt that said "You call me a bitch likes it a bad thing". I wore it all the time and looking back at it now, I think to myself that its things like that, that makes it ok to use these kinds of words in our society.
If in America, you were called a bitch, it could be referred to as many things. People can call someone a bitch and mean it to be a term for you being mean, rude, or even crabby. Some times people call others bitch to be funny, sarcastic, or even as a joke. Some peole will laugh after being called a bitch and other times people will truly have their feelings hurt and look back at the situation to see what made it ok for the person to call them that, or what made it not ok for that person to call them that. If a man should call a women a bitch, it would hurt that women much more than if one of their girl friends called her a bitch. In my opinion, a guy should never call a women a bitch. Its kind of like playing with fire, as the women may become furious. Either way, bitch is a very common word that should not be used everyday like its currently used. You hear this slang term everywhere you go -- school, malls, work, home, groups, etc-- everywhere you go, someone is talking about someone else who they think is a bitch. Why not just say you thought they were mean, or sarcastic, or whatever the case may be. If you, or anyone else should tell me that I am a bitch, I am going to ask you why you think that. That way, if I truly was, I would be able to look back at the situation and not do it again. If you are called a bitch in America, please dont be afraid to ask what it means if you don't understand that way you know if you should take it personally or not. Its ok to ask questions even if you look silly; at least you would know what they meant by it. Some people may not tell you why they called you a bitch because they might not even know, but most times its because you said something that came off to them as being crabby, rude or even mean. Other times its just to be sarcastic or joking with a friend or family member. I do however recommend that if you want to use this slang term, please be careful who you call a "bitch" as if its a teacher or co-worker, know that you will be in more trouble than if you called your sister a bitch. Just be careful when using the term.
Monday, June 21, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I like that you chose this word and gave examples of it being used as both a joke and an insult. I don't agree that it is only offensive if men say it to women but I do agree it can be offensive. I, however, believe it to be more relying on the tone someone says it, not the gender of the speaker. I do understand what you were meaning to say though. I think you did an overall good job.
ReplyDeleteI think it's great that you pointed out the gender differences and the meanings it comes with. I think that is an excellent observation because I know how furious I get if my fiance calls me out when I'm crabby and says I'm acting "bitchy". I fight so hard about him calling me a "bitch" and get more furious when he says its not the same thing. But on the other hand I laugh when my sarcastic girlfriends call me "bitch". Does not make any sense to me. :)
ReplyDeleteRickie, I really don't like this word at all. I especially don't like being called one. Now crabby does sound better; can't we all just use that? LOL I hope you only wore that shirt in the house. The word bitch can be used to describe something that is really neat too. You did describe right down to the last meaning of ways to use it. You did a bitch'in job.
ReplyDeleteaaaahhh if only we'd have been able to communicate properly, because you had some great points! I hate being called a bitch as much as I hate being called a chick, so I feel you there! I like the way you explained it to the foreigner using yourself as an example like when you said "If you were to call me a bitch..." It seemed easy for the reader to understand and more personal :)
ReplyDeleteThis is one of the nastiest slang I still don't understand why people should use it to address themselves. Your work is rich and good. The best thing is like about it is the admonishing part. It is always good to redirect people on the right path. I totally agree with this group when they advice us to alternate these slang to more positive ones.
ReplyDeleteThanks.
John Nwabugwu.
I agree with you , I don't think that "bitch" should be used as often as it is. I don't like the word at all. I like that you personalized it to what really goes on, such as: you here at at school, malls, etc.
ReplyDeleteGood Job!
- Shivana Maharaj
What I like about this post is that it explores thoroughly the different ways in which the term "bitch" is used. Clearly, you could write an essay on the topic. Great job!
ReplyDelete